NaPoWriMo Day 25 – Little by Little

Little by little
 I hear a singing lyrebird
 Sits on a tree-top

Little by little
 She mimics my song of love
 Springs from my heart

Little by little
 A hunter wanders nearby
 Walks toward my route

Little by little
 He renders a lullaby
 Waits for my sleep

Little by little
 He whispers song of spell
 Poisons of my heart

Little by little
 The lyre mutes on the tree-top
 Falls that very swift

Anaphora is a literary term for the practice of repeating certain words or phrases at the beginning of multiple clauses or, in the case of a poem, multiple lines. The phrase “A time to,” as used in the third Chapter of Ecclesiastes, is a good example of anaphora. This post by Rebecca Hazelton on the Poetry Foundation’s blog gives other great examples of anaphora in action, from Martin Luther King Jr’s “I Have a Dream” speech to Homer Simpson.

So today, NaPoWriMo challenges us to write a poem that uses anaphora. When you feel like time is moving fast, and you want the movements of events to go slow, I thought of the phrase “Little by Little”.

Share your thoughts

