NaPoWriMo Day 24 – Wall of Uncertainty

I have walls around me
Built by the flashes of memory.
It’s as sturdy as the narra tree.
It’s as stubborn as the sea.

I have walls around me,
As hard as the iron can be.
Like a spring? No! You cannot bend me;
And like a clay? No! You cannot mold me.

“Take down your walls!” I hear a plea.
“It’s my fortress and stronghold,” says me.
“Tear it down and let it destroyed,” i hear the same.
“Yes, but not this time, when I am in pain!” I plea.


The optional prompt is an inspiration from Peter Roberts who has been participating in NaPoWriMo for several years now at his blog, Masonry Design. He has the charming and odd distinction of having only written poems about masonry. Today, the challenge is to do the same (for one day, at least), and to write a poem that features walls, bricks, stones, arches, or the like. If that sounds a bit hard, remember that one of Robert Frost’s most famous poems was about a wall.

I thought there would be something more on the poem, as that was inspired by a situation in the past. And as time passes by, it had changed, and a tremendous change has been taking place. The wall may or may not be completely destroyed, but that is something to look forward to in my future poems.

Share your thoughts

